Hockey Hall of Fame
History of Hockey
Hockey News
Hockey Players
Birthplace of Hockey
Hockey Goals
Hockey Sweater
Who Invented Hockey
Women's and Girls Hockey
World Hockey Cup


Hockey Hall of Fame

The Hockey Hall of Fame is situated in Ontario, Toronto and Canada and the history of ice hockey is celebrated here displaying NHL trophies which involve the Stanley Cup and memorabilia in addition to interactive activities. This game is sponsored by the Hockey Canada and NHL.

The Hockey Hall of Fame is nearby to the Toronto underground Path system and linked through the Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Union Station and the Air Canada Centre. The new Hockey Hall of Fame was opened on 26 th August, 1961 on the foundation of Exhibition place.

Building History of Hockey Hall of Fame

The Bank of Montreal building was established in the year 1885. This was built by experienced architects ‘Darling and Curry’ and changed into another building of bank which is situated at the same place in the year 1845. This building was elected as a remarkable site under the Ontario Heritage Act in the year 1976.

Operations and Organization

Bobby Hewitson was the first guardian of the new Hockey Hall of Fame. After that, Maurice Lefty remained the guardian of Hockey Hall of Fame till 1992. In 1993, the Hockey Hall of Fame was transferred and launched in the former building ‘Bank of Montreal’ which was situated on the northwest corner of Yonge at downtown Toronto.

During its first year, Hockey Hall of Fame became successful and sets various records. During this period, new company supporters were found and daily operations were started in the Hall of Fame. But, currently Jeff Denomme is the president, treasurer and CEO and Phil Pritchard is the guardian of the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Induction into the Hall of Fame

The person is elected by a selection committee which consists of 18 persons and introduced to the Hockey Hall of Fame. The person should obtain the support of at least 15 members of the committee. In the certain year, there can be a maximum of two builders, four players, one linesman and one referee.

The selection committee in the year 2006 includes John Davidson, Emile Francis, Pat Quinn, Frank Selke, Scotty Bowman, Harry Sinden, Colin Campbell, Marty Pavelich, Dick Irvin and Richard Patrick.

Facts and Figures

Canadians are one of the major players who are inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame. There are also other members from many countries. The Canadian player like Bryan Trottier plays for the nation like US and Stan Mikita plays for Canada. The famous teams who are the members of the Hockey Hall of Fame and they are:-

  • Toronto Maple Leafs
  • Montreal Canadians
  • Ottawa Senators
  • Detroit Red Wings
  • Edmonton Oilers
  • New York Islanders